The Unknown

Sometimes God whispers and sometimes He shouts.

The first time we noticed God really nudging us in the direction of the unchurched small group idea, it started as a whisper (to catch up on how this all began go here).  We knew we needed a spot outside of the church to make this work.  Unfortunately, the only “hang out” spots in our very rural neck of the woods are bars.  I just kept wishing we had a coffee shop, just a single coffee shop, or….something. Curious as to how rural we really are?  Drive out to Amish country and then backtrack a couple of miles, you will find us there.  🙂

Farm Town, Farming, Amish, Unchurched, Reach, Unknown, Learn, God, No Answer, Prayer, Trust, Seek, Find

Life in a farming community – a little dull, but always breathtaking.

 

Anyways, my mind came to an empty space in the tiny plaza with our ice cream shop and pizza place.  But I knew we couldn’t afford to rent it full time and wasn’t sure if we could work anything out.  So I let it go.

Well, again, during my prayer time I felt like I needed to talk to the owner (we’ll call him Tim).  Waaaaaay out of my comfort zone.  But God doesn’t know what a comfort zone is – does He??  😉  Despite His whispers, I wasn’t feelin’ it.  I would just wait and see what else turned up.  In the back of my head, I thought, if Tim is at the bank when I go today, then I’ll talk to him (side-note, Tim does not work at the bank).  And as quick as I thought it, I forgot it.

Running my errands, last on the list for the day – the bank.  The bank that I have been to less than a handful of times.  I have a quick meeting in the office and as I’m leaving I glance back over my shoulder. “What?”  Take a couple of steps.  Stop for a second.  “That wasn’t him.”  Take a couple of steps.  Stop for a second.  “Okay, so it was.”  The door shuts behind me.  “God, I hear you loud and clear.”  The owner of the aforementioned space, Tim, was standing at the counter!!  I thought about going back inside the bank, but realized it wasn’t the right time.  The purpose of Tim being at the bank wasn’t so that I would talk to him right then and there.  Rather, it was God SHOUTING.  Keep going, keep moving forward.  We are on the right path.

In the end, that space won’t work for what we need.  It doesn’t even have utilities yet.  But he may have another space and we are waiting to hear.  However, it seems a bit like a dead end.

I think sometimes God does things for reasons we don’t understand.  Maybe He just wanted to give us an affirmation that we are moving in the right direction.  Maybe He was is testing our commitment to the  cause.  Maybe He just wanted to get a good laugh out of me tripping over myself at the bank because I could hardly believe my eyes.

And maybe someday I’ll understand it all.  Because, right now, I don’t.  But living in the unknown is where our faith grows.  The unknown is where we learn to trust and where we learn to seek.

Unknown, Trust, Seek, Faith, God, Journey, Voyage, Adventure, Unchurched, Outreach

 

What more does God long for?  For us to trust His name and seek His face!  We find Him in the unknown!

The story continues here.

One thought on “The Unknown

  1. Pingback: The Unexpected Voyage Begins | voyage together

Leave a Reply

